Library Home | Remodeling Project | Give to the Library | Find Your Librarian | Ask a Librarian

 

Databases

Core Databases:     [CINAHL]    [DynaMed]    [PubMed]    [UpToDate]  

 
A (14) B (9) C (20) D (8) E (5) F (2) G (7) H (7) I (1) J (2) L (8) M (15) N (9) O (4) P (10) R (4) S (11) T (5) U (1) V (1) W (2)
A
Abstracts in Social Gerontology (LOUIS)
Abstracts in Social Gerontology bibliographic database makes essential age-related content readily available for researchers of gerontology. It includes bibliographic records covering psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas of relevance to geriatric studies.
IP Validated
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
A multidisciplinary database with substantial free text content from many scholarly journals. Covers most areas of academic study including medical sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, physical sciences and engineering.
IP Validated
AccessMedicine (McGraw-Hill)
A searchable collection of online books. AccessMedicine includes Harrison's Online, Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine, Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, Hurst's The Heart, Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, The Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease, and more than twenty of the Appleton-Lange educational library titles covering both basic and clinical sciences.
IP Validated
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 (LOUIS)
America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states. Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.
IP Validated
Agricola (EBSCOhost)
This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 2.5 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
IP Validated
AHFS Consumer Medication Information (EBSCOhost)
The database updated monthly consists of over 1,450 medication and natural product leaflets, with an additional 600 Spanish language leaflets representing the most subscribed and commonly used medications.
IP Validated
Allen Brain Atlas & Data Portal (Allen Institute)
The Allen Brain Atlas resources are a growing collection of online public resources integrating gene expression and neuroanatomical data for the brains of the mouse, the human, and the non-human primate. The data span many different modalities including colorimetric in situ hybridization (ISH), dual fluorescence ISH, histological staining, microarray, RNA-Seq and exon array data.
Free
Alt HealthWatch (EBSCOhost)
This database provides indexing and full text for 180 publications covering complementary and alternative medicine. Coverage begins in 1990.
IP Validated
ALTBIB (National Library of Medicine)
Resources on Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and Testing.
IP Validated
Alternative Medicine and Health Periodicals, 1810-1877 (American Antiquarian Society)
Containing more than 180 periodicals dedicated to the concept of healthy living and alternative medicine, this collection represents a variety of alternative health options chronicled in the publications of the time, exploring such movements as electrology, homeopathy, hydrotherapy, magnetism, phrenology, and Thomsonian medicine.
IP Validated
American Doctoral Dissertations 1933-1955 (EBSCOhost)
American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933-1955 is a free database providing access to the only comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during that time period. Containing nearly 100,000 citations, American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933-1955, provides full page images of the original print index, and may be searched by author, title, subject and university.
Free
American Medicine, Surgery, Dentistry Periodicals, 1786-1877 (American Antiquarian Society)
This collection provides a snapshot of the best medical thinking of the time. It contains publications focused on professional medical thought, including dental practice, during the 19th century. With detailed illustrations and diagrams using what were state-of-the-art printing techniques at the time, these journals chronicle the development of medical and surgical techniques over time.
IP Validated
Art & Architecture Complete (LOUIS/EBSCO)
Art & Architecture Complete is a robust art research database providing full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts. Useful for artists, art scholars and designers, it covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design.
IP Validated
Art Index Restrospective (LOUIS)
An invaluable, in-depth record of contemporary art history, Art Index Retrospective allows users to search 55 years of art journalism at a keystroke. Users can research leading English-language sources, plus others published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Besides periodicals, users have access to data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins.
IP Validated
B
Bayou State Periodical Index
An index to Louisiana popular periodicals from 1985 to 2006
IP Validated
Biography in Context (Gale)
Integrates Thomson Gale biographies with full-text magazine articles, images, and website links. Search for current or historic people by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, or by keyword and full text. The optional Marquis Who's Who® module provides quick reference information on over 1 million additional people whose entries have appeared in more than 20 Marquis sources published from 1985 to the present.
IP Validated
Biological Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Biological Abstracts is a complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. This database contains more than 10 million archival records from as far back as 1969, with more than 370,000 citations added each year.
IP Validated
Black Life in America Perpetual Access Collection 2021 ((LOUIS/Newsbank))
Comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from earliest times to today. Sourced from nearly 19,000 American and global newspapers from 1704 to the present, including over 400 African American newspapers. Provides full-text searching as well as access to content by Topic, Event, and Eras in African American History. Updated daily.
IP Validated
Blast (National Library of Medicine)
Basic Local Alignment Search Tool (BLAST) finds regions of local similarity between sequences. The program compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance of matches. BLAST can be used to infer functional and evolutionary relationships between sequences as well as help identify members of gene families.
Free
BoardVitals
a board review tool that can be used by practicing physicians, residents, and medical students.
IP Validated
BoDD (Botanical Dermatology Database) (ORCiD)
BoDD is an electronic re-incarnation of BOTANICAL DERMATOLOGY
Free
BrowZine (Third Iron)
A mobile app for tablets and smart phones that allows you to access and browse e-journals from different publishers in one simple interface.
IP Validated
Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost)
Full text of nearly 3,050 business sources, including scholarly journals, economic reports, and profiles of the world's 5000 largest companies.
IP Validated
C
ChemIDplus (National Library of Medicine)
Dictionary of over 370,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures). Includes links to NLM and other databases and
Free
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text index 3,024 journals from nursing and allied health, with coverage beginning in 1937. The database also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals. Full text is available for hundreds of journals and many other document types.
A <a href="http://support.epnet.com/training/flash_videos/CINAHLPlusWithFullText.html" target="blank">Basic Tutorial</a> and
<a href="http://support.epnet.com/training/flash_videos/CINAHLAdvancedSearching.html" target="blank">Advanced Tutorial</a> are available.
IP Validated
Clinical Key (Elsevier)
ClinicalKey is a clinical resource designed to provide physicians with fast and clinically-relevant answers. This resource includes over 1,000 books, 500 journals, thousands of videos, and millions of images.
IP Validated
ClinMicroNow (Wiley)
The authoritative clinical microbiology sources, ASM's Manual of Clinical Microbiology (MCM), and Clinical Microbiology Procedures Handbook (CMPH), are used every day in laboratories around the world. This all-encompassing, online resource helps save precious research time as users perform deep searches and get timely updates.
IP Validated
Cochrane Library (Wiley)
"The Cochrane Library is a collection of seven evidence-based medicine databases.
The Cochrane database of Systematic Reviews
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
The Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews
Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED)
The Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies)
"
IP Validated
Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences (Morgan & Claypool)
A collection of expert summaries of biomedical research topics, intended for non-specialists and trainees who want to quickly get up to speed in a new area. Each lecture is 50-120pp and available as PDF. They feature re-usable figures and hyperlinked reference lists, and are excellent resources for researchers who want to explore new areas and keep current with a variety of fields.
IP Validated
Computer Source (EBSCOhost)
Computer Source provides indexing and abstracting for nearly 450 publications in computing & high technology, with full text for nearly 300 publications.
IP Validated
Consumer Product Information Database (DeLima Associates)
This database links over 4,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by the manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients.
IP Validated
CQ Researcher (LOUIS)
CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, a division of Congressional Quarterly Inc.
IP Validated
CRD Database (National Institute for Health Research)
CRD Database provides research-based information about the effects of health and social care interventions via databases. The CRD Database undertakes systematic reviews evaluating the research evidence on health and public health questions of national and international importance.
Free
Credo Reference (LOUIS)
Credo Reference is an online reference collection, and it features full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. It's a search engine like Google, but instead of searching the entire Internet, your results come from a comprehensive library of trusted reference sources without advertisements, clutter, or irrelevant hits.
IP Validated
CSH Protocols (Cold Spring Harbor)
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is a definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques. Its coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging.
IP Validated
CTD (National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences)
Comparative Toxicogenomics Database. Access to scientific data describing relationships between chemicals, genes and human diseases.
IP Validated
Current Protocols in Cell Biology (Wiley)
Current Protocols in Cell Biology is a collection of protocols designed to meet the needs of both the beginning and the experienced investigator. The protocols are detailed guides, complete with materials lists, step-by-step procedures, annotations, illustrations, and commentary. The manual covers cell culture, subcellular fractionation to isolate and study specific organelles, various types of microscopy, labeling, cell adhesion, cell and organelle motility, signal transduction, protein trafficking, macromolecular interactions, cellular aging and death, fluorescent protein technology, and study of chromosomes and nuclei.
IP Validated
Current Protocols in Cytometry (Wiley)
A collection that distills and organizes the absolute latest techniques from the top cytometry labs and specialists worldwide. It is the most complete set of peer-reviewed protocols for flow and image cytometry available.
IP Validated
Current Protocols in Immunology (Wiley)
Current Protocols in Immunology provides comprehensive coverage of immunological methods from classic to the most cutting edge, including antibody detection and preparation, assays for functional activities of mouse and human cells involved in immune responses, assays for cytokines and their receptors, isolation and analysis of proteins and peptides, biochemistry of cell activation, molecular immunology, innate immunity, animal models of autoimmune and inflammatory diseases, and stem cells.
IP Validated
Current Protocols in Molecular Biology (Wiley)
Current PRotocols in Molecular Biology is a compilation of basic methods for DNA preparation and isolation, library screening, sequencing, and more advanced procedures detailing DNA-protein interactions, yeast manipulation, and phosphorylation analyses.
IP Validated
Current Protocols in Neuroscience (Wiley)
Current Protocols in Neuroscience meets the diverse needs of neuroscience researchers in neuroanatomy, cell biology, developmental biology, pharmacology, and molecular biology, in addition to the classical areas of behavioral science and neurophysiology. It is updated quarterly.
IP Validated
Current Protocols in Protein Science (Wiley)
Coverage includes procedures for the expression, characterization, and purification of recombinant proteins as well as post-translational modification and structural characterization.
IP Validated
Current Protocols in Toxicology (Wiley)
Current Protocols in Toxicology, a member of the noted Current Protocols series of manuals, provides detailed, step-by-step protocols for both new and experienced investigators. The scope ranges from specific systems (immune, neural, behavioral, hepatic, reproductive) to processes (cell toxicity, mutagenesis, biotransformation, toxicokinetics, oxidative stress), to specific molecules (glutathione, heme. nitric oxide). CP in Toxicology is updated quarterly.
IP Validated
D
DailyMed (National Library of Medicine)
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA approved labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts.
Free
Diagnosaurus 4.0 (McGraw-Hill)
Diagnosaurus on AccessMedicine allows medical professionals and students to browse by symptom, disease, or organ system and to instantly receive information. Mining the rich resources of AccessMedicine, the web-based version of Diagnosaurus substantively enhances those search results by linking to related information on lab test, possible complications, prevention, prognosis, treatment, and much more.
IP Validated
Dietary Supplements Labels Database (National Library of Medicine)
The Dietary Supplements Labels Database offers information about label ingredients in more than 4,000 selected brands of dietary supplements. It enables
Free
Digital Sanborn Maps of Louisiana (LOUIS)
A Visual Expression of History. Produced for over a century, more than 660,000 Sanborn maps chart the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. The maps list street blocks and building numbers including numbers in use at the time the map was made and previous numbers.
IP Validated
Dissertations & Theses @ LSU Health Shreveport (ProQuest)
Dissertation Abstracts is a bibliographic database indexing doctoral dissertations and master's theses. It covers approximately 1,000 graduate schools and universities, adding about 47,000 new dissertations and 12,000 new theses annually.
IP Validated
Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest)
Dissertation Abstracts is a bibliographic database indexing doctoral dissertations and master's theses. It covers approximately 1,000 graduate schools and universities, adding about 47,000 new dissertations and 12,000 new theses annually.
IP Validated
Drug Information Portal (National Library of Medicine)
The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies. More than 15,000 drugs can be searched using this facility. This portal covers drugs from the time they are entered into clinical trials (Clinicaltrials.gov) through their entry in the U.S. market place (Drugs@FDA).
Free
DynaMed (EbscoHOST)
DynaMed Plus is a clinical reference tool intended for use primarily at the point of care. It includes clinically-organized summaries for nearly 3,000 topics. The database is updated daily. DynaMed monitors the content of over 500 medical journals, evaluating each article for its clinical relevance and scientific validity. Access to DynaMed is sponsored by the Louisiana Rural Health Information Exchange.
IP Validated
E
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) (LOUIS)
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full-text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. The eBook Collection is a custom collection of 634 health sciences titles.
IP Validated
ECRI Guidelines Trust (Requires a free registration) (Emergency Care Research Institute)
Advance safe and effective patient care with our repository of clinical practice guidelines, briefs, and scorecards.
Free
Embase ( Elsevier)
Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic database of published literature designed to support information managers and pharmacovigilance in complying with the regulatory requirements of a licensed drug
IP Validated
Environment Complete (LOUIS/EBSCO)
Environment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.
IP Validated
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals.
IP Validated
F
Family Studies Abstracts (LOUIS)
This database includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
IP Validated
Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia (EBSCOhost)
The Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database includes over 25,000 records covering a wide array of topics. Updated annually.
IP Validated
G
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
LOUIS Academic Libraries – A collection of e-books that contains over 140 titles (550+ volumes) covering subjects ranging from Multicultural Studies to History to The Arts.
IP Validated
Genetics Home Reference (National Library of Medicine)
Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.
Free
GeoRef (EBSCOhost)
A comprehensive database produced by the American Geological Institute, GeoRef contains over 2.6 million bibliographic records from more than 3,000 journals and other sources. It provides coverage in subject areas such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates.
IP Validated
Glassdoor.com
Is a free career resource that help job-seekers and students get an inside look at over 28,000 companies - including company salaries, reviews, and interview questions posted anonymously by employees and job seekers.
Free
GrantForward (Provided by the Grants Office)
GrantForward features enhanced search and user account interfaces, as well as an administrative console for generating usage reports and managing grants.
IP Validated
Grants.gov (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services)
Grants.gov was established as a governmental resource named the E-Grants Initiative, part of the President's 2002 Fiscal Year Management Agenda to improve government services to the public. It is a central storehouse for information on over 1,000 grant programs and provides access to approximately $500 billion in annual awards.
Free
GreenFILE (LOUIS)
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records
IP Validated
H
Haz-Map (National Library of Medicine)
Links jobs and hazardous tasks with occupational diseases and their symptoms.
IP Validated
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (EBSCOhost)
Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HaPI assists researchers, practitioners, educators, administrators, and evaluators, including students, to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation.
IP Validated
Health Services/Sciences Research Resources (National Library of Medicine)
HSRR is a searchable database of information about research datasets and instruments/indices. Users may examine and compare characteristics of some of the resources employed in Health Services Research, and the Behavioral and Social Sciences. The database includes brief descriptions of research resources and links to PubMed. It also includes URLs of providers for additional information or access to the resources.
Free
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost)
This database provides full text of more than 550 scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also includes abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 additional titles.
IP Validated
History Reference Center (LOUIS)
History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
IP Validated
Human Genome Resources (National Library of Medicine)
A gateway to human gene sequence data made available by the National Center for Biotechnology Information. Also provides a link to the Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM) database.
Free
Human Resources Abstracts (LOUIS)
This index includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to human resources, including human resources management, employee assistance, organizational behavior and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
IP Validated
I
Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Information Science & Technology Abstracts is a leading database in the areas of information science. ISTA indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patents, with ongoing comprehensive coverage of the most important periodicals in this field. Coverage dates back to the mid 1960s.
IP Validated
J
Journal Citation Reports (ISI Web of Knowledge)
The Journal Citation Reports on the Web captures author cited references (bibliographies) from journal articles that are indexed in the Wed of Science and Current Contents. The statistical data is extremely important in revealing precisely which journals publish content that is subsequently cited most frequently within papers presented in the most prestigious journals in the world.
IP Validated
JSTOR (JSTOR)
JSTOR is an online archive consisting of the full text of articles published in scholarly journals. Most publishers impose an embargo, or "moving wall" of three to five years before their content can be added to the database. A few impose a "fixed" wall, i.e., they do not allow JSTOR to continue to add new volumes to the archive after the date at which their own online coverge begins. JSTOR collections available to LSUHSC-S users through the LOUIS consortium include Arts & Sciences I and II, and the Business Collection. For a complete listing of JSTOR titles click here: <a href="http://lib.sh.lsuhsc.edu/jstor.html" target="_blank">http://lib.sh.lsuhsc.edu/jstor.html </a>
Free
L
Lab Tests Online (American Association for Clinical Chemistry)
Lab Tests Online has been designed to help you, as a patient or family caregiver, to better understand the many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care as well as diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and diseases.
Free
LearningExpress Library (Individual registration required) (LOUIS)
LearningExpress Library offers practice tests for admissions exams (ACT, SAT, GRE, etc.), the U.S. citizenship exam, the civil service exam, and various occupation certification tests. LearningExpress Library also includes e-books on career and academic skills. Each user must register (free) to get instant online scoring and customized analysis of practice test results and to access the e-books.
IP Validated
Legal Source (LOUIS/EBSCO)
Legal Source provides indexing and full-text coverage of the most respected scholarly law journals. This database is the authoritative resource for current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. It is an excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals and others involved with the law.
IP Validated
Lens (patents)
The Lens is an open global cyberinfrastructure. It serves nearly all of the patent documents in the world as open, annotatable digital public goods that are integrated with scholarly and technical literature along with regulatory and business data.
Free
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) (EBSCOhost)
Library/Information Sciences &amp; Technology Abstracts (LISTA), formerly Information Science &amp; Technology Abstracts (ISTA), covers includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval information management, and the information industry. LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings.
IP Validated
Literary Reference Center Plus (LOUIS/EBSCO)
Literary Reference Center Plus is the definitive literary database covering all genres and timeframes. It includes thousands of full-text poems, short stories, synopses, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies, plus lesson plans and literary study guides. It gives students a complete foundation of literary reference works.
IP Validated
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, supplemented by the scholarly materials of the Scribner Writers Series and Twayne's World, U.S., and English Authors Series. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
IP Validated
Literature, Arts, and Medicine Database (New York University)
The Literature, Arts, &amp; Medicine Database is an annotated multimedia listing of prose, poetry, film, video and art that was developed to be a dynamic, accessible, comprehensive resource for teaching and research in MEDICAL HUMANITIES, and for use in health/pre-health, graduate and undergraduate liberal arts and social science settings.
Free
M
MAS Complete (LOUIS/EBSCO)
Designed specifically for high school libraries, MAS Complete is a full-text database providing hundreds of popular high school magazines and reference books. Covering subjects such art, history, sports and music, it also includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents, plus over a million photos, maps and flags.
IP Validated
MasterFILE Complete (LOUIS/EBSCO)
MasterFile Complete offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
IP Validated
MathSciNet
A bibliographic database covering journals in Math and Science. Provided through the library's membership in the LOUIS library consortium.
IP Validated
MedEdPortal (AAMC)
MedEdPortal is a free peer-reviewed publication service and repository for medical and oral health teaching materials, assessment tools, and faculty development resources.
IP Validated
Medical Heritage Library (MHL)
The MHL is a digital collaborative among some of the world?s leading medical libraries that provides free and open access to quality historical resources in medicine. This growing collection now includes 11,000 titles.
Free
Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics (The Medical Letter, Inc.)
The Medical Letter, Inc. is a nonprofit organization that publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of previously approved drugs in its newsletters The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics and Treatment Guidelines from The Medical Letter.
IP Validated
Medicine in the Americas (NLM)
This digital resource of the National Library of Medicine encompasses over 350 early American printed books. These freely available works that demonstrate the evolution of American medicine date from 1610 to 1865.
Free
MedicLatina (EBSCOhost)
MedicLatina is a Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. This unique database provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals.
IP Validated
MEDLINE (OVID)
The premier biomedical database. Indexes approximately 4,000 scholarly journals covering all aspects of the health sciences. An <a href="http://www.ovid.com/site/help/ovid-tutorial/index.html" target="blank">interactive tutorial</a> shows the step-by-step process of using Ovid. <a href="http://www.ovid.com/site/help/documentation/owg.jsp?top=28&mid=30&bottom=55" target="blank">Documentation</a> that includes user guides, search tips, search features, and more is available. Also <a href="http://www.ovid.com/site/help/documentation/owg_qrc.jsp?top=28&mid=30&bottom=55&subsection=62" target="blank">Quick Reference Cards</a> provide a handy-sized quick overview of search features.
IP Validated
Medline (EBSCOhost)
The premier biomedical database. Indexes approximately 4,000 scholarly journals covering all aspects of the health sciences.
IP Validated
MedlinePlus (National Library of Medicine)
MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
Free
Mental Measurements Yearbook (EBSCOhost)
Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present.
IP Validated
Military & Government Collection (EBSCOhost)
This database covers periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the needs of military & government. It includes cover-to-cover full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals, and indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles.
IP Validated
MLA Directory of Periodicals (EBSCOhost)
Contains detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed. The entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.
IP Validated
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost)
An index of journal articles, books and dissertations produced by the Modern Language Association. It covers literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, historical aspects of printing & publishing, rhetoric & composition, and the history, theory and practice of teaching language & literature are also included. This version dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.
IP Validated
N
National Academies Press (NAP) (National Academy of Sciences)
More than 4,000 titles published by the National Academies Press can be downloaded in PDF format, free of charge. Subject areas of interest include biology and life sciences; health and medicine; behavioral and social sciences; and math, chemistry and physics.
Free
NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) Bookshelf (NLM)
The Bookshelf provides free access to over 7,000 texts in the life sciences and healthcare.
Free
NetAnatomy (Provost's Office)
NetAnatomy is designed to teach human anatomy to students of the health professions, including undergraduate medical and health sciences students. NetAnatomy also serves as a place to review anatomy after one’s initial exposure to the subject, e.g. students beginning a clinical rotation, USMLE (National Board) preparation, etc. Its use in the early years of various residency programs has also been established.
IP Validated
Newspaper Source Plus (LOUIS/EBSCO)
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
IP Validated
Nexis Uni (Lexis-Nexis)
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis®) is a leading global provider of content-enabled workflow solutions designed specifically for professionals in the legal, risk management, corporate, government, law enforcement, accounting, and academic markets.
IP Validated
NIH Image Bank (NIH)
The NIH Image Bank contains images from the collections of the 27 Institutes and Centers that comprise the National Institutes of Health. Contents include general biomedical and science-related images, clinicians, computers, patient care-related images, microscopy images and various exterior images.
Free
NIH RePORT (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services)
(Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools) provides access to reports, data, and analyses of NIH research activities, including information on NIH expenditures and the results of NIH supported research.
IP Validated
Nucleotide Database (National Library of Medicine)
The Nucleotide database is a collection of sequences from several sources, including GenBank, RefSeq, TPA and PDB. Genome, gene and transcript sequence data provide the foundation for biomedical research and discovery.
Free
Nursing and Allied Health Source (ProQuest)
Covers nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine. Provides indexing and abstracting for more than 650 titles, with over 580 titles in full-text.
IP Validated
O
OCLC FirstSearch WorldCat
A catalog of books, web resources and other materials in libraries worldwide
IP Validated
Office of Extramural Research Grants (National Institutes of Health)
Provides the corporate framework for NIH research administration, ensuring scientific integrity, public accountability, and effective stewardship of the NIH extramural research portoflio
Free
OMIM (National Library of Medicine)
OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative, and timely compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes. The full-text, referenced overviews in OMIM contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes. OMIM focuses on the relationship between phenotype and genotype. It is updated daily, and the entries contain copious links to other genetics resources.
Free
Ovid (Ovid Technologies - Wolters Kluwer Health)
Ovid is part of Wolters Kluwer Health, a leading global provider of information, business intelligence and point–of–care solutions for the healthcare industry. Serving more than 150 countries and territories worldwide, Wolters Kluwer Health's customers include professionals, institutions and students in medicine, nursing, allied health and pharmacy.
Free
P
Primary Search (EBSCOhost)
Provides full text for more than 60 popular magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator, and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
IP Validated
Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhost)
This database provides a collection of nearly 550 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. Coverage ranges from elementary school to postgraduate education.
IP Validated
Protein Database (National Library of Medicine)
The Protein database is a collection of sequences from several sources, including translations from annotated coding regions in GenBank, RefSeq and TPA, as well as records from SwissProt, PIR, PRF, and PDB. Protein sequences are the fundamental determinants of biological structure and function.
Free
PsychiatryOnline (American Psychiatric Association)
"PsychiatryOnline is online collection of books and journals in psychiatry.
The books include DSM-IV-TR, DSM-IV Case Studies, and DSM-IV-TR Handbook of differential diagnosis; Hales and Yudofsky's Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry (4th edition), and the APA Practice Guidelines for the Treatment of Psychiatric Disorders, which is updated dynamically as new guidelines are issued. PDA versions of the Quick Reference to DSM-IV-TR Diagnostic Critieria, the DSM-IV-TR Handbook of Diffential Diagnosis, and the Quick Reference to APA Practice Guidelines are also available for download.<p>
Journals include the American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychiatric Services</i>, <i>Academic Psychiatry, Journal of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences, and Psychosomatics. In addition to full text of these resources, PsychiatryOnline offers self-assessment tests using questions derived from <i>Self-Assessment in Clinical Psychiatry</i> by Donald Hilty et al, which will be useful for residents preparing for boards."
IP Validated
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost)
This database is a collection of approximately 575 full text publications, most of which are peer-reviewed journals indexed in PsycINFO. It is updated daily.
IP Validated
PsycINFO (EBSCOhost)
Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO contains over two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, on Psychology dating as far back as 1840. Journal coverage, which dates back to the 1800s, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 35 languages. More than 65,000 records are added each year.
IP Validated
PubChem (National Library of Medicine)
Open chemistry database at NIH. Includes information formerly in Toxnet's Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSSD), Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS) and Genetic Toxicology Data Bank (Gene-Tox).
Free
PubMed (National Library of Medicine)
The premier biomedical database. Indexes approximately 4,000 scholarly journals covering all aspects of the health sciences. A Tutorial is available that shows how to use and navigate the many search features of PubMed. Short animated tutorials are also available on Searching the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) Database, Combining MeSH Terms, and Subheading and Other Features of the MeSH Database.
Free
PubMed Central (NIH/NLM) (NCBI)
More than 2.5 million images and figures from medical and life sciences journals are now available through Images, a resource for finding images in biomedical literature.
IP Validated
PubMed for Handhelds (National Library of Medicine)
PubMed is a free database accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics. The United States National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institutes of Health maintains the database as part of the Entrez information retrieval system. PubMed records contain links to full text articles, some of which are freely available, often in PubMed Central.
Free
R
Regional Business News (EBSCOhost)
Coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
IP Validated
REHABDATA Database (National Rehabilitation Information Center)
REHABDATA, produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 65,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection span 1956 to the present.
Free
Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCOhost)
This database provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, making it an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
IP Validated
Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools (National Institutes of Health)
RePort Expenditures and Results (RePORTER) replaces the CRISP system and retains all of the features of CRISP while providing additional query fields, hit lists that can be sorted and downloaded to Excel, NIH funding for each project (expenditures), and the publications and patents that have acknowledged support from each project (results). RePORTER also provides links to PubMed Central, PubMed and the US Patent &amp; Trademark Office Patent Full Text and Image Database.
Free
S
Sage Knowledge Collection (LOUIS)
is home to an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content alongside SAGE Video, containing over 4,600 titles. Content includes reference works, academic books, professional development titles and more. This cross-media platform allows users to search and browse over 10,000 items, video, book and reference titles within the Social Sciences.
IP Validated
Science & Technology Collection (EbscoHost)
The Science &amp; Technology Collection contains over 830 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,740 publications.
IP Validated
Science Citation Index/Web of Science [1993 to present]
This online version of Science Citation Index provides keyword and cited reference searching of the periodical literature of the sciences from 1998 to present.
IP Validated
Scientific Periodicals, 1771-1901 (American Antiquarian Society)
his collection contains over 210 publications related chiefly to the hard science disciplines, such as mathematics, astronomy, chemistry, physics, and geology. It also contains a small number of social sciences titles and literary magazines with scientific content.
IP Validated
Scribner Writers Series (Gale)
Scribner Writer's Series includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres drawn from 13 acclaimed Scribner print series.
IP Validated
Serials Directory (EBSCOhost)
Provides bibliographic information and current pricing structures for popular serials. Contains nearly 184,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers, historical data for an additional 20,000 titles.
IP Validated
Skinsight (Logical Images, Inc.) (Logical Images, Inc)
A free resource that contains skin health and skin care information with medical images.
Free
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
SocINDEX with Full Text is a Sociology research database containing more than 1,600,000 records. It contains full text for 253 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. It also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.
IP Validated
Stahl Online (Cambridge University Press)
Provides full access to the entire current Cambridge portfolio of neuropsychopharmacology books by Dr Stahl.
IP Validated
Stat!Ref
The STAT!Ref Online Library is a customizable, cross-searchable library of over 50 online books.
IP Validated
StatPearls (StatPearls Publishing)
Academic eLearning Management System that includes a growing list of free online creview articles and inexpensive multiple-choice and flashcard questions with explanations available in Apps, eBooks, and a soon-to-be-released online CME/CE Learning Management System covering over 400 medical specialties.
Free
T
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
IP Validated
Thieme ElectronicBook Library (Thieme)
Thieme ElectronicBook Library provides a resource for learning, review and research in medicine and life science. It covers anatomy, basic science, clinical science and radiology.
IP Validated
TRI (Environmental Protection Agency)
Toxic Release Inventory. Annual environmental releases of over 600 toxic chemicals by U.S. facilities.
IP Validated
TRIP (TRIP)
TRIP is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
IP Validated
Twayne Author Series (Gale)
Twayne World, US, and English Authors each contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 individual full-text titles.
IP Validated
U
UpToDate
"UpToDate is designed to quickly answer clinical questions at the point of care.
Content is reviewed and edited on a continuous basis and a new, peer-reviewed version is issued every four months.
The published evidence is summarized and specific recommendations made for patient care.
A Tutorial gives users instruction in using UptoDate to find medical information."
IP Validated
V
Violence & Abuse Abstracts (LOUIS)
This database includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
IP Validated
W
Web of Science/Science Citation Index [1993 to present]
This online version of Science Citation Index provides keyword and cited reference searching of the periodical literature of the sciences from 1993 to present.
IP Validated
WebWISER (National Library of Medicine)
WISER is a system designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents. WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice.
Free