Home | Site Map | Contact Us  

Library Subject Portals: Evidence-Based Medicine: Databases

[Full Text Databases]  [Abstracts Databases]   [Search Engines]  [Practice Guidelines]

Full Text Databases

The Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high–quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision–making.

ACP's PIER (Physicians' Information and Education Resource)
A searchable and browsable collection of disease modules compiled by the American College of Physicians. Topics are selected based on prevalence in clinical settings. Evidence for all diseases is evaluated, and credibility of the evidence is displayed with a rating.

Bandolier
Bandolier is an independent journal about evidence-based healthcare written by Oxford scientists. The impetus behind Bandolier is to find information about evidence of effectiveness (or lack of it), and put the results forward as simple bullet points of those things that worked and those that did not: a bandolier with bullets. Information comes from systematic reviews, meta-analyses, randomised trials, and from high quality observational studies.

DynaMed
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool intended for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'. It includes clinically organized summaries for nearly 3,000 topics, which are are updated as new evidence appears in the 500 journals and databases that DynaMed monitors. Access to DynaMed is sponsored by the Louisiana Rural Health Information Exchange.

Essential Evidence Plus
Essential Evidence Plus is the new name for the enhanced version of the evidence-based medicine content resource InfoPOEMs with InfoRetriever. Essential Evidence Plus keeps you current and answers your clinical medicine questions at the point of care with the right information.

MEDLINE

Full text is available for some journals, but not all.

PubMed The National Library of Medicine's database indexing biomedical literature.

MEDLINE via OVID A commercial vendor's implementation of the National Library of Medicine's database indexing biomedical literature.

Stored searches

PubMed EBM Search Filters A set of predefined search strategies that help limit PubMed retrieval to materials most likely to meet criteria for EBM.

OVID EBM Search Hedges

Adapted from a March 2004 Medical Library Association teleconference

OVID EBM "diagnosis" search filter Clicking the links will automatically execute the stored search in OVID. You can then search your subject, and combine your results with the stored search using the COMBINE icon.
OVID EBM "therapy" search filter


Live PubMed Searches on Frequently Researched Diseases

This table was created to support the LSUHSC-S Internal Medicine Residency Program. The citations are from the National Library of Medicine's PubMed database. The search criteria used included Clinical Queries filters for select MeSH headings that are limited further by English language, human studies, recent time span, and journals that are available through the library.
Acute Renal Failure Therapy Diagnosis Etiology Prognosis Systematic Reviews
Asthma Therapy Diagnosis Etiology Prognosis Systematic Reviews
Diabetes, Type 2 Therapy Diagnosis Etiology Prognosis Systematic Reviews
Hypertension Therapy Diagnosis Etiology Prognosis Systematic Reviews
UTI Therapy Diagnosis Etiology Prognosis Systematic Reviews

Abstracts Databases

The York Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
A collection of abstracts of systematic reviews.

Search Engines

SUMSearch
A meta-search engine that gathers evidence-based clinical information from MEDLINE, DARE and the National Guidelines Clearinghouse.

TRIP Database
A search engine that gathers evidence-based clinical information from MEDLINE, DARE, the National Guideline Clearinghouse and many other evidence-based websites.

Practice Guidelines

Clinical Guidelines (Institute for Clinical Systems Improvement)
Guidelines for preventive services and disease management developed by ICSI, an independent nonprofit collaboration of health care organizations.

National Guidelines Clearinghouse
Comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

US Preventive Services Task force (USPSTF) Recommendations
Recommendations for clinical preventive services based on systematic reviews by the US Preventive Services Task Force.

 

 
Copyright ©2005-2009 LSUHSC-S Medical Library. All rights reserved.
LSUHSC-S Medical Library | 1501 Kings Hwy. | Shreveport, LA 71103
(318) 675-5445